Drunk and drugged driving is inherently dangerous which is why DWI laws in New York are strictly enforced. Being arrested for driving while intoxicated does not mean you will be convicted, however, as long as you have an experienced DWI defense attorney in your corner.
At Macedonio and Duncan, LLP, we have extensive experience defending clients against DWI/DWAI charges and vehicular homicide charges throughout Suffolk County. Given that a conviction may result in severe penalties — fines, license suspension, and potential jail time — it is crucial to have the powerful DWI defense representation we provide.
Driving is not only a way of life on Long Island, it’s a necessity; a license suspension can interfere with your job, daily errands, and family activities. Trust our legal team to vigorously defend you, protect your driving record, and preserve your driving privileges. Contact our Islip Terrace office today to speak to a criminal defense attorney.
What is DWI in Suffolk County, New York?
You can be charged for DWI in Suffolk Country for operating or being in control of a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.8 or higher. The legal limit for commercial drivers is 0.4 percent, and driving with a BAC of 0.18 or higher is charged as aggravated DWI. Moreover, there is zero-tolerance for minors who drive while intoxicated; the BAC limit for drivers under the age of 21 is 0.2.
In addition, driving with a BAC of 0.5 to 0.7 can result in a DWAI (Driving While Ability Impaired) charge. While DWI is a misdemeanor, DWAI is generally considered an infraction. Driving while impaired by drugs (DWAI – Drug) or a combination of drugs and alcohol is a criminal offense, however.
Finally, you can be arrested for DWI/DWAI regardless of your BAC level based on observations of intoxication by police: slurred speech, the odor of alcohol on your breath, lack of coordination, or an open container in plain sight in the vehicle.
Leandra’s Law: Drunk Driving with a Minor
A driver who is arrested for DWI with a passenger 15 years of age or younger in the vehicle will be charged with Aggravated DWI with a Child Passenger, a felony offense that is punishable by fines and a potential prison sentence.
How Macedonio and Duncan Will Provide You With A DWI Defense
Regardless of the charges you are facing, it takes an experienced DWI attorney to protect your rights. Prosecutors rely on evidence collected by the police (breathalyzer tests, lab results, sobriety tests, video footage) to gain a conviction. We may be able to challenge your DWI charge on a number of grounds:
- Inaccuracy of the breathalyzer used to test your BAC
- Failure of the arresting officer to properly administer the breathalyzer test
- Failure of the police to read your Miranda Warnings
- Other causes for your erratic driving (e.g. a medical condition)
Our attorneys will conduct a thorough investigation, including obtaining and reviewing the police report and medical tests, and devise the best strategy to protect your rights.
Contact Our Experienced Suffolk County, New York DWI Defense Attorneys
Given the consequences of a DWI conviction, not the least of which is having a permanent criminal record, it is crucial to have the powerful representation Macedonio and Duncan, LLP provides. Contact our office today so we can start working on your DWI case.